15 % OF CCW PERMIT HOLDERS ARE WOMEN
There has been a big increase in Washtenaw County (Ann Arbor), Michigan concealed handgun permits. More county residents applied for CCW permits in the first three months of 2010 than did in all of 2006 or 2007.
The average number of applications per month so far this year – 230 – dwarfs the monthly averages for most of the past five years (54 in 2006; 45 in 2007; 98 in 2008; and 188 in 2009, a year when many permit holders were renewing.)
In 2004, that first renewal year, the average was 85 per month – a total of 1,025 for the year.
About 15% of the permit holders in Washtenaw County are women. The greatest concentrations of permit holders are in rural parts of the county.
If you have questions about getting a CCW license or have been charged with a weapon related offense please contact Samantha Moffett at 248 624 5500 or at Samantha@ambroselawgroup.com.
An individual licensed to carry a concealed pistol who is stopped by a police officer (traffic stop or otherwise) shall immediately disclose to the police officer that he or she is carrying a concealed pistol either on their person or in their motor vehicle. According to the Michigan State Police wesbite here are the steps you should take when pulled over with a CCW:
- An individual licensed to carry a concealed pistol who is stopped by a police officer (traffic stop or otherwise) while in possession of a pistol shall immediately disclose to the police officer that he or she is carrying a concealed pistol either on their person or in their motor vehicle.
- Failure to disclose this information to a police officer carries the following penalties:
- First offense = State Civil Infraction – $500 fine and 6-month CCW license suspension.
- Second offense = State Civil Infraction – $1000 fine and CCW license revocation.
- An individual licensed to carry a concealed pistol shall have the license in his or her possession at all times he or she is carrying a concealed pistol.
- Failure to possess CCW license when carrying a concealed pistol is a State Civil Infraction and a $100.00 fine.
- Upon request, an individual licensed to carry a concealed pistol shall show both of the following to a police officer:
- His or her license to carry a concealed pistol
- His or her driver license or personal identification card
- Failure to show CCW license and Michigan driver license or Michigan personal identification card when carrying a concealed pistol is a State Civil Infraction and $100.00 fine.
- A pistol carried in violation of numbers 1, 2, or 3 is subject to immediate seizure by a police officer.
- If a weapon is seized for failure to possess a CCW license while carrying a concealed pistol:
- Individual has 45 days in which to display their license to carry a concealed pistol to the law enforcement agency that seized the pistol and the pistol shall be returned.
- If the individual does not display their license to carry a concealed pistol within 45 days the pistol is subject to forfeiture.
To Ensure Safety During Police Encounters
If you are stopped by a law enforcement officer you should:
- Keep your hands where an officer can see them.
- Cooperate fully with the police officer.
- If you have a gun with you, tell the police officer as soon as possible.
- Do not make any quick movements, especially toward the weapon.
- If in a vehicle at night, turn on your vehicle’s dome light.
In certain circumstances, a law enforcement officer may take temporary possession of the weapon during interaction with the individual to ensure the safety of the officer and others. The police officer will return the pistol at the end of the stop unless the individual is being charged with a violation of the act or any other law that allows for the weapon to be seized.
If you have questions about getting a CCW license or have been charged with a weapon related offense please contact Samantha Moffett at 248 624 5500 or firstname.lastname@example.org
YOU ARE ONLY 6 STEPS AWAY FROM GETTING A CCW PERMIIT
A license to carry a concealed handgun is also known as a CCW permit. You must follow certain steps from the application process since deviation from those steps results in an automatic decline of application.
- Pass initial legal requirements. A CCW applicant must be at least 21 years of age and a legal resident of Michigan for over 6 months. Additionally, the applicant cannot have a felony criminal record or convictions for certain misdemeanors. For a comprehensive list of legal requirements, visit http://michigan.gov/.
- Attend and pass a Pistol Safety Training course that meets Michigan’s state requirements. If you pass the training course, obtain a completion certificate. The certificate does not expire but is a factor for consideration during the application process.
- Obtain a CCW permit application kit. Application kits are free, and provided by law enforcement agencies and County Clerk’s offices. You can also download the application
- Complete the application thoroughly. File it with the County Clerk’s office in your home county. Bring a clear facial photograph of yourself, suitable for a passport, and the completion certificate from the Pistol Safety Training course. You must pay a filing fee. Obtain a paid filing fee receipt for the application.
- Take the paid receipt and have someone fingerprint you for a concealed weapon application at your local Sheriff’s office. Some counties charge a small service fee. The Sheriff’s office forwards your fingerprints to the Michigan State Police.
- Wait for final processing. The Michigan State Police conducts the criminal check and forwards its findings to the local county gun board. Upon receipt of this report, the gun board has 45 days to approve or deny your application for a CCW license.
If you have any question about obtaining your CCW permit or have been charged with a crime involving a firearm please contact Samantha Moffett at 248-624-5500
Ambrose Law Group