Our Voice: The Working Law Student

When I tell most people that I am in law school I get the “Wow” response. Then when I tell them that I am working at a law firm too and I get the “Are you crazy?” response. When I first started, I was thinking the same thing. However, the more and more I do both, I realize that it is manageable.

Law School is hard. There is no way around it besides saying just that, it is HARD! If you think you can do what you did in undergrad and just skate by, you are crazy because there is no way. However, it is manageable and you just have to organize yourself and your time and realize that “thirsty Thursday’s” are over. It is not forever, and if you truly want this and want to become a lawyer, it is something you have to do, and really it’s not that bad. Also, if you can get a job in the same field as what you are trying to do, it is a tremendous help. It gives you first hand, an idea of what you are going to be spending the rest of your life doing. In a way, it makes school easier, because you are putting to practice what you are learning and so much more.

I have learned so much by working at Ambrose. I feel more prepared in class and I’m putting to practice what I’m learning about everyday in school.

Working and going to school is not for everyone. Sometimes it feels impossible to do both and you have decide if it’s worth staying in school a little bit longer to get that experience. Also, by working, you can pay off some of the large bills that you’ll start piling up.

In the end working and law school is a struggle (Especially with Exams right now!) , but worth the experience.

 

Kristen@ambroselawgroup.com


 

Leave a comment

Filed under Kristen Guralczyk, Our Voice - Op/Ed, The Working Law Student

Leave a Reply

