All You Need to Know about Michigan’s CPS-Child Protective Services

WHAT IS CPS?

CPS- Michigan’s Children’s Protective Services consists of investigators as well as ongoing workers. Investigators investigate allegations of child abuse and neglect. Allegations can also consist of medical neglect, failure to protect, sexual abuse, improper supervision, child endangerment and death of a child. Ongoing workers provide services to families that have been found guilty of any of those charges. Services will be offered to the family in order to ensure the the safety of the children and to keep them in their homes.

CAN ANYONE MAKE A COMPLAINT TO CPS?

Anyone can contact their local DHS office and make a CPS complaint. The referral source can stay anonymous or give out their name and address. If the RS gives this information they will receive a notification letter to inform them of the outcome of the investigation. CPS can not disclose the referral source.

WHAT IF A FALSE COMPLAINT IS MADE AGAINST MY FAMILY?

If a false complaint is made the referral source can be prosecuted with the assistance of the prosecutor and/or an attorney.

WHO DOES CPS INVESTIGATE?

A parent, caregiver, or guardian that is 18 years or older.

Often siblings will harm each other in the family home. If siblings are under 18 years of age an investigation may  be conducted if there are “failure to protect” issues by the parents.

CAN I FIND OUT WHO CALLED CPS ON ME?

Only a judge can order the CPS worker to disclose the referral source. Again, assistance by an attorney will be needed.

CAN CPS SPEAK TO MY CHILDREN WITHOUT MY KNOWLEDGE?

CPS can interview children without the parent knowing. Most often interviews are conducted at the schools. CPS must inform the parents after the interviews are conducted. Schools must fully cooperate and give CPS access to the children.

CAN I SPANK MY KIDS?

Parents can spank their children but they can not leave marks or bruises.

WHAT IS PHYSICAL ABUSE?
CPS considers it physical abuse when marks, bruises, welts, burns, broken bones, and serious injuries are inflicted by the parent or caregiver.

WHEN CAN I LEAVE MY KIDS ALONE AT HOME?

CPS will investigate children 10 years and younger if they are home alone. Exceptions can be made based on the child’s mental and physical capacities as well as the amount of time left alone. Parents should always leave safety precautions and phone numbers available to the child.

WHAT IS CENTRAL REGISTRY?

Central registry is a child abuse registry. Parents that are found guilty of abuse and considered high risk will be placed on this registry for life. This can prevent parents from getting employment and attending school functions.

DO I NEED AN ATTORNEY IF CPS COMES TO MY DOOR?

Most often you do not need an attorney. However, if the allegations reach a criminal level it would be in your best interest to obtain one. Allegations may consist of serious physical abuse, sexual abuse or any other allegation that may place you on central registry.
It is also in your best interest to obtain an attorney if CPS court proceedings are scheduled or if you would like to be taken off central registry.

SHOULD I COOPERATE WITH CPS?
In most cases parents should cooperate with CPS. If the allegations are serious you should seek out legal counsel immediately.

CAN CPS REMOVE MY CHILDREN WITHOUT A TRIAL?

CPS can seek out a court order for removal prior to any hearings if the safety of the children are at risk. Court proceedings immediately follow and parents are given the opportunity to obtain their own attorney or be appointed one. The children are also given a guardian at litem to represent them.

CPS is suppose to hold TDM (team decision making meetings) prior to removal to discuss removal issues and placement of the children. Parents can bring their attorneys to these meetings and this is recommended for the best outcome possible for the parent.

If you need help with a Michigan CPS case contact Aida Spahic

Aida@ambroselawgroup.com or call 248-624-5500

or visit our website for more info www.ambroselawgroup.com

If you have questions about Michigan’s Child Abuse and Neglect Central Registry you can find more info here

If you found this article helpful like us on facebook 

16 Comments

Filed under CPS

16 responses to “All You Need to Know about Michigan’s CPS-Child Protective Services

  1. I have added you to my site for people that need lawyers. Please feel free to join the site also

    THANKS
    Denise
    PAST.CPS

  2. You’ve written a very good article.
    If it’s fine with you, I would like to seek permission to use your article as it relates to my problem. I will be happy to negotiate to pay you or hire you for this.

    With Regards from
    Republic Polytechnic

  3. Jamie

    Very good article for those seeking information about CPS.

    Thank You

  4. ljparker

    Me and my family are dealing with the Grand Rapids Michigan CPS. We need help A.S.A.P.

  5. Yvonne

    my brother has CPS in and out of his home . My step father and I went to a meeting at my brothers home with CPS workers for a plan for action if needed . At that time we was told that if the children were removed they would go to my step fathers home . Today at 6 p.m. three of the five children was removed from the home and they was placed with strangers. We are going to court at 8:30 to see why this happened this way and see if the children can be placed in my step fathers care . There was no efferts on CPS to even contact one of us as planed . Do they not have to place with family?

  6. Pingback: Michigan’s Child Abuse And Neglect Central Registry | Ambrose Law Group

  7. Theo mccloud

    CPS Wexford county is changing workers on me telling me times that are false. (419)654-4376 is my # please help me

  8. jodi

    CPS has made hundreds of violations during my case. I was wrongfully accused and won. I know a lot about the system and i CAN HELP IF YOU HAVE QUESTIONS. There are alternatives to things they do and still the court will consider you in cooperation.

    • I am involved with CPS because someone called and complained that I drank a few beers. My children were at home and I was at a wedding reception. How can they make a case out of this. I did not break any laws or harm my children in any way. Im wondering if I should contact a lawyer and get them for harassment. They told me I have to have someone with me 24/7 when Im with my kids which is 24/7. I also have to take alcohol abuse classes and drop randomly. How is this possible? Can they get away with this? I know plenty of parents that drink occasionly.

  9. Marie

    How long does CPS usually investigate before they do something? I know a family who has been investigated for 10 months now and CPS has yet to do anything. The family has moved 7 times in 10 months, never in their own home and the children rarely attend school. What is the law regarding this?

    • My fiance has twin boys that live with their mother and they have moved 5 times in 5 years and are getting ready to move again and they rarely attend school. CPS has been involved but never do anything.We have lived in our home for 7 years and counting and we have bedrooms for them and everything but still nothing is being done. I too would like to know if there is a law regarding this.

Leave a Reply

