Medical Marijuana still debated

Whether you were for or against it, the Medical Marijuana Act, which passed by 63 percent of Michigan voters in November 2008, became effective April 4, 2009. So what’s left to argue? Well how about where people buy it? Some West Bloomfield residents are proposing the city adopt an ordinance prohibiting businesses from producing and selling the drugs to patients who are legally qualified to use it. Patients can purchase marijuana from a licensed care giver or from stores that are beginning to pop up across the state. You can read the full article on the West Bloomfield Hills debate found in the Oakland Press here

In order to get a license for medical marijuana, a person must have a “debilitating medical condition.” The Medical Marijuana Act limits these medical conditions to:

  • Cancer
  • Glaucoma
  • HIV positive
  • AIDS
  • Hepatitis C
  • ALS
  • Crohn’s disease
  • Agitation of Alzheimer’s disease
  • Nail patella
  • Nail patella
  • Other diseases with chronic pain, severe nausea, seizures, severe muscle spasms, or wasting syndrome.

To apply for a license you must have a statement from your doctor saying you have one of these diseases, submit an application to Michigan Department of Community Health (MDCH) and pay a $100 application fee. The MDCH will review your application within 15 days, and issue you an ID card if you are approved. This license gives you the ability to legally use and grow marijuana for your own use.

If you cannot grow your own marijuana you can appoint a caregiver (over age 21) to grow it for you. This person also has to apply to MDCH. If their application is approved they can grow up to 12 plants for your medical use. Each caregiver can help up to 5 people with their medical marijuana needs.

The law also gives you protection from being prosecuted by the state for possession of drug paraphernalia.

But remember, use and possession of medical marijuana is not legal in all states, and is still illegal in the eyes of the federal government. In other states that do allow use of medical marijuana, you should consult an attorney or contact that state’s licensing department before using medical marijuana outside of Michigan. Be careful when and where you are using your medical marijuana.

If you are arrested but you don’t have a prescription for medical marijuana you may be able to get the charges dismissed if your lawyer can demonstrate the following:

  • A doctor’s statement that it is therapeutic for your disease
  • The amount of marijuana possessed was a reasonable amount
  • The use, possession, or growth of the marijuana was for the above condition

If you are charged with possessing marijuana and need help, visit our website www.ambroselawgroup.com or call (248) 624-5500. Daniel Ambrose can help

Advertisements

3 Comments

Filed under Drugs, Medical Marijuana, Uncategorized

3 responses to “Medical Marijuana still debated

  1. Pingback: Keeping a Clean Record- Michigan’s 7411 Law « Ambrose Law Group

  2. Pingback: More Confusion On Michigan’s Medical Marijuana Laws « Ambrose Law Group

  3. Pingback: Medical Marijuana Raids and Arrests in Oakland County Michigan « Ambrose Law Group

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s